Guide for the Reforms to GCSE, AS and A Levels

Guide for the Reforms to GCSE, AS and A Levels 

GCSE, AS and A Level qualifications are being reformed. The new subjects are being introduced gradually, with the first wave being taught from September 2015.

Subjects that have not been reformed will no longer be available for teaching from September 2018.

Reformed GCSEs

  • Will be more demanding
  • Have been designed for a two-year period of study
  • Will be linear, so students will take all of their exams at the end of the course
  • Non-exam assessment will be removed or reduced in the majority of GCSEs
  • Will have new grading scale from 9 to 1

Reformed AS and A Levels

  • Will have new content with greater input from universities
  • Will be linear, with AS assessments typically taking place after one year of study and A levels after two
  • Will keep the A* to E grading scale (A to E for AS level)
  • AS results will no longer count towards an A level
  • Degree of non-exam assessment will reflect balance and nature of new subject content
  • Performance standards stay the same

Please click here to view our detailed guide to the upcoming changes